With over 750,000 visitors each year, Pittencrieff Park, or 'The Glen' as it is more commonly known by local people, is one of Scotland’s most important and popular urban parks.
The Park was purchased in 1902 by the town’s most famous son, Andrew Carnegie, who then gifted it to the people of Dunfermline in a ceremony the following year.
Well known for its resident peacocks, this 76-acre park is of huge historical and cultural significance to Dunfermline, West Fife and beyond.
Pittencrieff Park plays host to many events throughout the year including the Bruce Festival and the annual fireworks display that is enjoyed by people of all ages.
The Glen Pavilion within the Park is a lovely Art Deco style building that is a popular venue for weddings, meetings, conferences or corporate events.
The park has a range of interesting features including:
• Andrew Carnegie Statue
• Pittencrieff House Museum
• Glen Pavilion
• Formal gardens and Glasshouses
• Remains of Malcolm Canmore’s Tower
• Louise Carnegie Gates
Thanks to funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund, with match support from the Carnegie Dunfermline Trust and Fife Council, a £1.6 million transformation is currently reaching completion, to return this much-loved green space to its former glory. Restoration and improvement work started in autumn 2012. A separate £1 million project to build a café extension on to the iconic Glen Pavilion, funded by the Carnegie Dunfermline Trust, was completed in 2012.